Who Knew?

That I would end up writing horror? I didn’t.

Surprise!

One of the “rules” of being an author is knowing your genre. I’ve always known I wanted to work within the realms of speculative fiction, but I’ve always gravitated more toward the world of fantasy, than those of horror and science fiction. So I was a bit taken aback when I discovered that I have a bit of a penchant for writing stories that actually fall more within the boundaries of horror.

I’ve never considered myself much of a dark person. Vindictive? Yes, I openly admit to that. But for the most part, I’ve always considered myself to be fairly lighthearted, romantic, and positive, if a bit more realistic than most. I’m guessing my experience with depression and anxiety over the past four years has tainted my palette a bit; I’ve also watched way too many episodes of Law & Order: SVU and Criminal Minds, and having three daughters, my mind goes to some fairly dark places nowadays.

Enter Stitched Smile Publications. Not too long ago I submitted a short story for consideration for one of their upcoming anthologies. The story features a young mother who is suddenly plagued by an inner voice urging her to murder her six-year-old son. The story, entitled “Cutting Lies,” was accepted for publication in the anthology, “Unleashing the Voices Within.”And with that, I became an author for SSP.

Now I am learning to market myself as a horror author. I have a horror comic in the works with SSP, entitled “Flesh.” I’m working on a few other short stories for SSP, as well as polishing up a few stories to submit to Nightmare Magazine, and putting together an application for a horror writing scholarship. And when I finish my novel for Onder Librum, I will start putting together some ideas for a horror novel.

So, no. I didn’t know I wrote horror. But I do now. And I’m excited to see where it takes me.

Leave a Reply

