Fare Thee Well

charon

Fare thee well, my beloved friend, so true.

The last coin I have, I give it to thee.

I know thou hast nothing, so it must be:

For Charon shall always demand his due.

Fare thee well my friend. Do not gaze astern.

Pass over the river and waste not thy tears

For even now the Fates sharpen their shears

As all that once was is destined to burn.

Fare thee well; gaze out on that golden key.

Spare no merciful thought for they that bleed,

For the gods have seen and now intercede,

Damning they that set out to devour thee.

Fare thee well my friend. I too shall soon pass

From this world left charred and scattered like ash.

 

Leave a Reply

